Almost That Time…

by JG

If you know me personally, are friends with me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, or if you’ve read this post, then you’ve heard me talk about Bonnaroo.

For those that may not know, Bonnaroo is a four-day Music and Arts festival in Manchester, Tennessee. Due to its (relatively) remote location, its the type of festival where you camp out near enough to the festival site. I will be one of those camping outdoors rather than enjoying the luxury of an RV or of a hotel.

This year’s line-up is one of the many things that has me very excited about going to Bonnaroo. The entire line-up can be found here, but some artists I’m really looking forward to seeing are; Eminem, Lil Wayne, Girl Talk, Donald Glover, Arcade Fire, The Strokes, and many, many more.

For more on Bonnaroo, hit the jump.

This post is starting to go a little bit all over the place, and for that, I apologize. I just wanted to write an introductory post for my Bonnaroo adventure, so those that arrive at my blog to read about my adventures won’t be confused by the fact that my most recent article is about NHL realignment. It really has been a while since I blogged.

Let me give you a few more details about my trip before I go. I will be going on behalf of The Concordian, a student newspaper I work for at Concordia University in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. I will be joined by my friend Kenneth Von Suss, who will be working alongside me as my photographer. Kenneth is very talented, and I encourage you to check out his work here. We will be driving with two other people, whose names I will not list here. First we’ll be stopping in Toronto to pick someone up, then we’ll head down south towards Manchester, stopping for the night somewhere in Ohio.

We’ve yet to purchase food or supplies yet, so we’re essentially depending on a fully stocked Wal-Mart somewhere in Ohio or Kentucky., If you live in either of these states and can recommend a good one, please note it in the comments section below.

I will likely have wi-fi access in both whatever location we stay at tomorrow night, as well as during the festival itself, thanks to the press tent.

To follow along, keep checking this blog, follow me on Twitter (I will be using the hashtag #ConURoo if you do not have an account), “like” me on Facebook, and if you want to, subscribe (in order to receive updates whenever I post, see top right of page).

I will be updating as often as I can, and my final piece on the festival will be available on The Concordian’s website soon after my return next week.

I hope you all enjoy what I have to say, and if you don’t, at least you’ll enjoy the pictures.

